Browsing Category

Uncategorized

The Sisters of Versailles - book review | juliekmccomas.com
Book Reviews, Uncategorized

The Sisters of Versailles – Book Review

The Sisters of Versailles by Sally Christie

Book Description:

“An intriguing romp through Louis XV’s France. Filled with lush backdrops, rich detail, and colorful characters, fans of historical fiction will enjoy this glimpse into the lost golden era of the French monarchy.” (Allison Pataki, author of The Accidental Empress)

“Tantalizing descriptions and cliff-hangers will leave the reader rapidly turning the pages in anticipation…A wickedly delightful read.” (New York Daily News)

Goodness, but sisters are a thing to fear.

Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best feet—and women—forward. The King’s scheming ministers push sweet, naïve Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the King. Over the following decade, she and three of her younger sisters—ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne—will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power as each becomes the king’s favorite for a time.

In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie’s stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood—of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough.

Review:

This is a time period that I am not very familiar with, and after listening to this on audio I have decided that I want to learn more.  I am quite aware that this is a fictional story based on facts, but there are many aspects of this story that are true. Every time I see photos of people in King Louis XV’s day, France 1700s, they look so prim and proper in speech and attire, but scandalous just barely covers them.

In fact, it seems like a 1700s soap opera.  Pauline is equivalent to any daytime drama villain of the current soaps.  Can you imagine trying to become the mistress to the king after your sister had been the mistress of choice?  Or how about the second sister mistress watching the next two sisters take to the king’s bed?  It is so strange that it was acceptable for married women to have affairs with the king. Crazy!

If I had to choose a favorite sister, I would say mine would be Louise.  She seemed like she actually cared for King Louis XV, and not just out for herself.  There are alternating narratives so you are able to kind of get to know what each sister is like.  I have to say that there were times I giggled like a little school girl at some of the things they said.  Oh dear, I might have even blushed as I listened.

The Sisters of Versailles was a great listen, and even though the whole premise is just crazy it is crazy enough to make you keep reading.  Or in my case listening.

FYI – I purchased this book and am under no obligation to the author or publisher to write this review. However, the links above are affiliate links and if you were to click on one of the links and purchase the book and/or audiobook, I might get a couple of pennies that go toward my blog costs. Thank you!

The Sisters of Versailles Book Cover The Sisters of Versailles
The Mistresses of Versailles Trilogy #1
Sally Christie
Fiction, Historical, Literary, Women's Fiction
Atria Books
September 1, 2015
Audiobook
432; 15 hrs 13 mins

Uncategorized

Home Sweet Home

We made a fast trip to New Mexico this weekend to see the kids. They are growing up so fast, and being 10 hours away – we miss a lot!

It was a very nice relaxing weekend, but over way too soon!!

Aidan (Poohs) made me a new potholder. Remember making these?

Home Sweet Home

Uncategorized

Reading & Riding

This is what I’m reading as we drive to New Mexico to see the kiddos.

What are you reading?
Inquiring minds, like mine, want to know!

Are you signed up on goodreads?

Reading & Riding

Uncategorized

Living in Color

ACR_6879
These were our trees right before the wind decided to start blowing 50mph, and before the leaves started falling.

I start looking forward to Fall in approximately July.  Typically, our temps here are hot enough to make us wish for color weather, but I don't look forward to that as much as I do the changing of the leaves. 

I marvel at what God has done with this sphere floating in space called Earth.

Let me catch you up on a few things since this is my first post in like forver!

I have lots of posts in the works, and will start posting them tomorrow. I have tested a few things on Pinterest, made some new recipes, read a few books, and spent some time with the kiddos. Just wait till you see the photos from our Taste Testing game. Good times!

I have lots of hair these days, and hope to post new photos for you to see.

I will be posting some good Christmas gift and stocking stuffer ideas.

And, I will share my new idea for McD's birthday.

I'm looking forward to blogging again.

Uncategorized

Technical Difficulties

Right when I was anxious to get back to my blog our Internet goes out.

Thankfully, I am getting a new modem next Wednesday.

Be ready! I have some fun posts coming up!

Uncategorized

Technical Difficulties at the AC Ranch and …

Where did today go?

Today was a crazy day.  C-R-A-Z-Y

Nothing really out of the ordinary happened, other than the internet here at the house acting crazy.  Seriously, I wanted to pull all my hair out, and run out of hear screaming at the top of my lungs.  But that would just scare the cat, the dogs, the cows, and the horses.  So, I restarted my computer, because doesn't that always make things better?  Um, not today.  Then I clicked around on the computer, and waited.  I got tired of waiting, so I clicked a few more keys, and then I vacuumed the floor. 

Finally, after a few hours of wondering what in the world was wrong with my connection, it starts working again.  Now I, for the life of me, can't remember what I was going to blog about today. 

Isn't that just par for the course?  Ha!

Now that our internet is up, and I have rambled on about nothing, I think I will go change into my pajamas, wash my face, and read.

Maybe tomorrow I will remember what I was going to say.

Hope you guys have a good evening!!