Book Reviews

Diary of a Jackwagon by Tim Hawkins – Review

diary of a jackwagon | juliekmccomas.com

Diary of a Jackwagon on Amazon

Book Description:

Popular Christian comedian Tim Hawkins shares his hilarious perspective on life in the 21st century.

In this wide-ranging, long-awaited book, comedian Tim Hawkins holds forth on everything from family, culture, and music to church, parenting, and education. Readers will enjoy laughing their way through the book, always feeling good about the clean and sometimes inspiring material they are laughing at. Chapters include riffs on marital communication (“marriage needs a challenge flag, like in pro football”) aging (“the diabolical orifice witch hunt”), worship music (“pick the right key, because I’m not Barry White and I’m not a Bee Gee”), and fatherhood (“There are no manuals for parenting. Color-coded warning labels or open-ended prescriptions would be just as helpful.”)

For fans of Jim Gaffigan’s Dad Is Fat and Food: A Love Story, Tim Hawkins’ hilarious first book reveals that for life’s many difficulties, laughter is the best medicine-when there aren’t any pills left.

5 Blooms Review | juliekmccomas.com
Review:

This book is funny! FUN-NY!

Let me tell you about reading this book. My husband and I were headed to a business meeting in Colorado, which was about a 9 hour drive, and we had planned to listen to a book on the way there. Little did I know that I would be the one narrating the book. I figured that I would read a story or two, and he would get tired of hearing me read, but that isn’t what happened.

He laughed! Out loud!

When I would finish one story, I would ask if he wanted me to continue and the answer was always yes! So I quit asking. That was the fastest 9 hour trip ever. We laughed, we remembered stories that resembled his, and we laughed some more.

We were at this meeting for several days, then we went to see the kids, and when we headed back I just assumed we’d listen to the radio and carry on with our usual debriefing. Not this time. My husband got in the pick-up, and asked me if I was going to finish reading the Jackwagon book.

So, I did.

I honestly, don’t know if I can give this book a better review. For my husband to want to continue reading this, laughing out loud at almost every chapter/story, and recommend it to others…that in itself is a five-star rating!

To this day, we still make reference to silly little quips and quotes from Diary of a Jackwagon. Especially, Jackwagon. It has been one of my favorite words for years!

Buy this book! This is a book that you will be able to devour in one day! A month, two months, or a year later it will be just as funny!

Well done, Tim Hawkins! Well done!

Thank you to Booklookbloggers for allowing me to get an advanced copy in exchange for my honest review.

Previous Post Next Post

No Comments

Leave a Reply